04
Apr
09

Tree Trunks?

63. Concrete or Cement

63. Concrete or Cement

I couldn’t help but think that these concrete columns on this portico looked like misplaced tree trunks, as they were surrounded by hundreds of varieties of trees in our local arboretum. And if you think I mistakenly posted an autumn photo, nope. I took this on the 2nd of April, before the remainder of last year’s leaves have fallen, and before the snow storm predicted for tomorrow covers everything with a fresh blanket of white.

Sometimes living in Wisconsin with its “spring weather” can be a bit trying. Give it another month, and the flowers will be in full bloom and I’ll be loving it.


6 Responses to “Tree Trunks?”


  1. 1 tmcchesney
    April 5, 2009 at 11:45 am

    What a cool take – and those shadows really add to the interest. Yesterday evening was a weird for here in Nebraska – we had a tornado touch down, severe thunderstorms and blizzard warnings. Definitely true Nebraska weather. We were supposed to get hit w/ 6- 12″ of snow and it missed us – only got an inch or so – thank goodness! Now Spring should be here LOL

  2. April 5, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    This does look like tree trunks. I love this shot. Spring should be here soon. Don’t give up

  3. 3 Danudin
    April 5, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    Ah Pagoda Palms methinks, or possibly Portico Palmettos, you can’t tell without a sledgehammer. Great shot of the forest.

    • 4 Bo
      April 5, 2009 at 5:03 pm

      Ron, you crack me up. If I need a good laugh, all I need to do is go check out a few of your comments. Tell me you’re really a pro comedian!

  4. 5 Gandalf
    April 6, 2009 at 7:18 am

    Looks like candy cane stripes to me, but wrong season.

  5. April 10, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    Eyecatching shot – really nice capture.


Leave a comment


Copyright Notice

All photography and written material under copyright. © 2008-09 by Bo Mackison, all rights reserved.