27
Jun
09

Candelabra at the Cloisters

39. Candle(light)

39. Candle(light)

So I had to stretch the theme a bit here. No, there is no candle “light” exactly, but this is kind of a neat candelabra.  I’m doing a subtle substitution.

BTW, I consider myself a pretty decent speller, but the word ‘candelabra’ had my totally stumped. Was it “d-l-e” or “d-a-l” or “d-e-l”? So if nothing else, at least I know how to spell a new word.

As for the candelabra, it’s a rather ancient fixture–15th century or so. And another photograph from the Cloisters in NYC.

7 Responses to “Candelabra at the Cloisters”


  1. 1 tmcchesney
    June 29, 2009 at 5:35 am

    Beautiful fixture (you may not have known how to spell it, but I didn’t know what it was LOL)!

  2. 2 Gandalf
    June 30, 2009 at 6:46 am

    I’d boot that spelling too. Dictionaries are a wonderful invention.

  3. July 2, 2009 at 11:07 am

    Nice neutral colors in this photo – the candles look great against that stonewall and on the dark stand.

  4. July 2, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    Beautiful! And if you light those you’ve got candlelight so if you ask me I think it’s a perfect picture for the theme. 😀 /Viktoria – http://morrdrakens365.wordpress.com/

  5. July 3, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    love how some of the candles are slightly tilted with no real consistency!

  6. July 7, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    Beautiful, evocative shot even without the candlelight. The tones and textures are great.

  7. July 20, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    I like the lighting on this!


Leave a Reply

