07
Jun
09

Forgery at The Cloisters

221. Oops!

221. Oops!

This fountain was acquired by The Cloisters, part of the Metropolitan Museum of Art in NYC, as a 12th century original from the  monastery of Notre-Dame-du-Vilar. Now it is thought to be a forgery from The Pyrenees region and is dated from the early 20th century. Not quite what they bargained for, or paid for, I assume.

5 Responses to “Forgery at The Cloisters”


  1. June 8, 2009 at 3:08 am

    Oops is the perfect word! /Viktoria

  2. 2 Gandalf
    June 8, 2009 at 6:12 am

    Ditto, but not in deference to the Radio dude.

  3. June 8, 2009 at 11:25 am

    Just looked back at your fabulous photographs. Congratulations on your daughter’s graduation from law school and on your youngest turning 21!! Lots of good times!!

    The first time I had to fly on one of those small planes I was not happy!! I think if I had been at gate 13 I might have gone home!! Love the photograph of the airplane.

    The ferns and all or your images are just beautiful. I always enjoy your blog.

  4. June 8, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    I thought it looked familiar…the Cloisters is one of my favorite places in the whole world. It’s not far from where I went to collge, and I’d often slip down in the spring to spend a quiet afternoon there listening to the music and the fountains.

  5. 5 tmcchesney
    June 8, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    Very cool fountain, love the texture and the great shot of the water!


Leave a Reply

