16
May
09

Atsinna Pueblo

331. Times Gone By

331. Times Gone By

Atsinna Pueblo, home of the ancestral Zuni, is the largest of the pueblos on top of the high mesa in El Morro. The pueblo was about 200 feet by 300 feet, and housed an estimated 1200 to 1500 people.  It dates from about 1275 AD.

5 Responses to “Atsinna Pueblo”


  1. 1 Danudin
    May 16, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    I bet those walls could tell a fine tale, stunning shot.

  2. May 16, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    Nice. I love all the ruins from the ancient pueblos out here.

  3. May 17, 2009 at 12:27 am

    I would love to stroll through these ruins and see if I could hear voices from days gone past. Of course I don’t, but wouldn’t that be nice to hear their tales. I like the intricate way and pattern made of the adobe blocks how they are pieced together and the “mortar” that holds them all. Also like the color. Very soothing and calming. Nice shot.

  4. 4 tmcchesney
    May 17, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    What a shot! You are still making me jealous!! I want to GO! Just in case you didn’t know that LOL! Great textures through out this!!

  5. 5 Gandalf
    May 20, 2009 at 7:27 am

    I love the patterns in your photo.


Leave a Reply

