13
May
09

The Devil’s Urn

150. Holes

150. Holes

The Devil’s Urn is a fungi often found in spring on sticks or small logs. It is most common east of the Rockies, but is also found in the Midwest. I found this cluster while checking out the University of Wisconsin Arboretum for ephemeral wildflowers on the forest floor.

As far as eating the Devil’s Urn, I wouldn’t recommend it. There is little in the literature to suggest that this fungi is poisonous, but when eating mushrooms the rule is “Eat nothing you cannot absolutely identify as non-poisonous.” And with a name like Devil’s Urn, it sure doesn’t sound too promising.

As for the fungi–I went back the next day to take more photographs in early morning light. For one, I’d never seen this fungus before, and secondly, I wasn’t quite happy with the photos I had. But it was gone. Completely disappeared. And just 12 hours before it was there. Weird things, fungi!

10 Responses to “The Devil’s Urn”


  1. 1 tmcchesney
    May 13, 2009 at 8:10 am

    how interesting! I need to open my eyes more for this stuff! I have never seen this fungi, wow is it interesting – what a cool picture it makes, and weird that it disappeared within 24 hours. Very mysterious! Great toning by the way!

  2. May 13, 2009 at 8:30 am

    We have a lot of fungi growing at our cottage in Québec, but I’ve not seen one like this. It made for an interesting photo with all the ‘urns’ lined up on either side of the log.

  3. 3 Debra
    May 13, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    Very interesting shot and fungi!

  4. May 13, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Why did you post this in black-white? I´m curious, may this be something that grows in my part of the planet to? Don´t have a clue…

    And when it comes to the rule of eating mushrooms…it´s funny how it defers.

    Your rule says: Eat nothing you cannot absolutely identify as non-poisonous.

    Our rule says: You can eat everything, but some things just once (your rule comes as a paranthesis).

    • 5 Bo
      May 13, 2009 at 4:36 pm

      There were a few green leaves that I didn’t especially like in the photo. Everything else was brown or black, so I went with a light sepia to focus on just the shapes of the fungi.

      Your rule sounds more daring than my rule. Think I’ll stick to only eating the fungi I know–which includes morels which are one of my favorite foods! 🙂

  5. 6 Gandalf
    May 13, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    Pretty little pots all in a row. Very nice photo.

  6. May 13, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    That’s one funky fungus! Monotone was every effective.

  7. May 14, 2009 at 6:54 am

    Very cool fungus. I love the toning =- kind of Haryy Potterish!!

  8. May 15, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    Cool shot. And I like the black and white treatment.

  9. May 19, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    This is a nice composition and the subtle colors are great.


Leave a Reply

Copyright Notice

All photography and written material under copyright. © 2008-09 by Bo Mackison, all rights reserved.

