10
May
09

On Top of El Morro

196. Navigational Aids

196. Navigational Aids

While visiting El Morro National Monument in New Mexico, we took the Mesa Trail, a 2 mile trek to the top of the mesa. Even though three inches of snow had fallen the night before, by the time we had made it to the top, it was nearly 10 am and the snow had mostly melted. The trail was on bare rock on the mesa, and so there were cairns every 100 feet or so to show us the direction to follow.

Handy navigational aids–those little piles of rocks, all balanced carefully, one atop the next.

12 Responses to “On Top of El Morro”


  1. 1 Sunny
    May 10, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    REally nice shot! I like the cairns in the foreground, and the distance the photo shows behind it. Ya done good!

  2. 2 Debra
    May 10, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    I like the perspective of the shot. Wonderful image!

  3. May 10, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    Great sky, great perspective, and rich, sharp colors. Nice image! Looks like a grand place for a hike!

  4. May 10, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    I can’t get enough of this picture. The more I look at it, the more I see. There’s the perspective; the stunning colors; the contrast between the barren rock with the trees, rich sky and the reflecting pool of water; the pile of stines in the foreground; and the textures.

  5. May 10, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    This trail is calling you to come for the adventure. I hope you have this one hanging on your wall!

  6. 6 tmcchesney
    May 11, 2009 at 6:40 am

    What a beautiful sight! Worth the walk!

  7. May 11, 2009 at 7:58 am

    I have my computer back and love the pictures you have posted this last week. This is my favorite though. The foreground with the little rock pile leading to those scruffy trees/shrubs just makes me want to walk there. I don’t know what it is exactly but I like looking at this photo. Really great!!

  8. 8 Gandalf
    May 11, 2009 at 11:17 am

    This one makes me want to break out in song “On top of El Morro all covered with cheese, I saw my first cairntil somebody sneezed ….” 🙂

  9. May 11, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    I really like this picture…it has so much going on in it to like.

  10. May 12, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Fantastic image. The rock surface shows so much character. I like how you placed the cairn (or inukshuk in Canada) in the close foreground, almost as if we are going to need it to navigate to the back of the frame….

  11. May 14, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    You framed this so perfectly, the pool/puddle echoing that amazing sky is such a great contrast to the rock. Sure beats GPS those cairns…

  12. May 15, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    I want to go there! This is beautiful!


Leave a Reply

