07
May
09

As Lovely as a Rose

as Lovely as a Rose

213. Orange

The sun finally peeked out from the clouds yesterday evening, and I insisted on postponing dinner until I could get a few photographs of a tulip bed I had my eye on. Once I was there, the sun played peek-a boo with me, and so it took me nearly an hour of waiting, and on and off shooting, to get the photos I wanted.  But with rain forecast for the next 3 days, it was now or not this year.

This tulip reminds me of a rose, unfolding slowly, filled with promise. But I like that the tulip has less complexity and needs hardly any tending. And that it shows up early in the season when the need for flowers and color is heightened and really appreciated.

6 Responses to “As Lovely as a Rose”


  1. 1 tmcchesney
    May 7, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Wonderful close up shot of this tulip! Just so soft and elegant looking!

  2. May 7, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    Breathtaking! Oh how I wish I could get a shot like that!

  3. 3 Gandalf
    May 7, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    gorgeous photo. Are you sure it’s not a rose?

  4. May 7, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    Well worth waiting for – lovely lighting that really sets off the color.

  5. May 7, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    Stunning photo – well worth the wait!

  6. May 9, 2009 at 7:50 am

    Luscious colors and a great close-up of the heart of the flower!


Leave a Reply

