01
May
09

Rattlesnakes???

351. Warnings

351. Warnings

This is the kind of sign I pay attention to when I’m in the wilderness of the desert. If there were enough rattlesnakes to warrant getting their own sign, I decided I’d step carefully and carry a big stick. Not that I would do anything with a big stick, but it made me feel a bit better.

And, no. Rattlesnakes were neither seen nor harmed on this hike.

8 Responses to “Rattlesnakes???”


  1. 1 tmcchesney
    May 1, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    I don’t think I would be hiking in there! I hate snakes!

  2. May 1, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    The very first time we were out west (heck, the first time I was went of the eastern part of Ohio!) we visited the Garden of the Gods in Colorado. Our first child was 20 months old. We went for a walk along a path there, and from time to time, I climbed up on the rocks. When we got to the END, we realized we’d taken the path backwards and read the sign warning us of the presence of tarantulas and rattlesnakes. It also strictly enjoined us to stay on the path.

  3. 3 Danudin
    May 1, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    We don’t have rattlesnakes here but that looks like perfect habitat, for tiger snakes and red bellied black snakes, I’d heed the warning, great take.

  4. May 1, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    I grew up in southern Montana, where the rattlesnakes are HUGE. You don’t need a sign to know where they are.

  5. May 1, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    I lived in Texas until I was 8 years old. We were taught that the only good snake was a dead snake. I remember the story being told about how my twin chased a water moccasin around the house after a really big hurricane pushed the creek up to the house. Even though my DS liked his pet boa constrictors, and he had them in his bedroom when he was in Junior High School, I do NOT like snakes.

  6. 6 Bo
    May 2, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Sounds like everybody has a scary snake story to share. Snakes give me the creeps!

  7. May 2, 2009 at 11:10 am

    I’d take warning too. Don’t have a snake story to share, and don’t want one so I can! lol

  8. 8 Gandalf
    May 5, 2009 at 6:07 am

    Hey snakes are people too. Don’t malign them. One was even on one of the Colonial flags during the Revolutionary War.


Leave a Reply

