14
Apr
09

Only You Can Prevent Forest Fires!

74. Dangerous

74. Dangerous

Smokey the Bear greeted us at the entrance to Palo Duro Canyon State Park in the Texas Panhandle. “Fire Danger EXTREME Today”. This part of Texas is under severe drought conditions.

No campfires this evening, but the skies are clear and stargazing will be on the agenda.

10 Responses to “Only You Can Prevent Forest Fires!”


  1. April 14, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    Wow – other than camping, I don’t think I’ve seen old Smokey around lately. He used to be on TV. I wonder if today’s kids even know who he is?

    Looks like a great evening for star-gazing!

    • 2 Bo
      April 17, 2009 at 6:35 am

      I’ve seen him in three different places thus far on our trip. Once his cut-out was surrounded by small children. They seemed quite familiar with him, though I don’t know how. I don’t think Smokey is seen on TV or in video games!

  2. 3 tmcchesney
    April 14, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Love this (and I love Smokey the Bear) – I haven’t see a sign like this since I was a little girl!

  3. 4 Danudin
    April 14, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Tell the people of Victoria that, and an affirmitve fire plan is just part of it.

  4. 5 jmckiss
    April 15, 2009 at 8:56 am

    I just heard yesterday that my cousin and her husband died in those Texas wildfires last weekend. How awful that must be!

  5. 7 Mary Lou
    April 16, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    I haven’t seen Smokey the Bear in years. Good thing he is still around and getting his message across.

  6. April 16, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    There is a sign like that near one of my favorite star gazing sites as well. Nice shot.

  7. April 21, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    That is a great shot and very timeless.

  8. 10 Gandalf
    April 28, 2009 at 11:21 am

    Ahh Smokey – He’s Da Bear alright


Leave a Reply

