31
Mar
09

Eagle’s Roost

86. Environmental Portrait

86. Environmental Portrait

The Bald Eagles appear to be alive and well. A far cry from their story only a few decades ago, when America’s symbolic bird was on the Endangered Species list.

Last month, I went to observe the eagles wintering along the Mississippi River. They tend to hang out around the locks and dams which have areas of open water, even during the winter’s coldest months. And open water, to an eagle, indicates the diner in open.

The eagles are quite active – swooping along the river, and doing aerial dives into the water, successful in their fishing attempts.  I must have seen a dozen birds in the hour I was there.

I spoke to a member of the Army Corps of Engineers who oversees the dam, and also to a member of the local Audubon Society who keeps his eyes on the eagles. They both told me they’ve been doing eagle counts since the 1970s. Thirty years ago, in a counting trip from one dam to the next,  a span of less than 20 miles, they saw a total of one Bald Eagle. This year, same span, same time of year, and they reported seeing more than 200.

That’s my environmental portrait.

9 Responses to “Eagle’s Roost”


  1. 1 tmcchesney
    April 1, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    And what an incredible environmental portrait it is! This is so majestic, and good news on the count! It would be really sad to loose this gorgeous bird!

  2. April 1, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    It is such a success story in so many places, great shot.

  3. April 2, 2009 at 1:58 am

    The eagles are up to par with those numbers in the NW too. Or they were when I was still there. I’ve some photographs, but the camera I had at the time left more to be desired than my current one does. They are really thrilling to watch when fishing. OR for that matter, at any time. Nice commentary with your photo, and great photo too. The tree (Oak?) is perfect with those few leaves left and all framed against that perfect blue sky.

  4. 4 Clara
    April 2, 2009 at 5:37 am

    Incredible picture. Wonderful. I have been to eagle watches at Lake Guntersville in Alabama. There is no experience like seeing an eagle roosting in the wild.

  5. April 2, 2009 at 9:01 am

    He/she is magnificent! Sitting there, surveying it’s domain! Great shot!

  6. April 2, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    love viewing eagles…so majestic!

  7. April 2, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    Majestic is the word to describe those magnificent birds. I’ve heard there are some near where I live but I’ve yet to see them. I’m hopeful that I’ll have a chance on day. Great capture on this one though I hate to use the word “capture” in conjunction with it!

  8. 8 Gandalf
    April 3, 2009 at 8:45 am

    nice shot & commentary.

  9. 9 Greg
    April 7, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    Beautiful eagle and nicely composed photo. Good capture.


Leave a Reply

