01
Mar
09

Photo Advice: Always Turn Around

169. Leaves

169. Leaves

Exploring the local botanical gardens, I took many shots of the snow and icy plants. Then I turned around and looked up. The winter gardens took on an entirely new look as I framed last year’s eucalyptus leaves with the morning’s unusually bright blue skies.

The first year I shot with an SLR, I read a simple piece of advice. “When you are pleased with a particular shot, turn in the opposite direction and compose another photo. The better picture may be the one behind you, the one you almost didn’t see.”

I have had great results when I remember to turn around and compose another shot.

16 Responses to “Photo Advice: Always Turn Around”


  1. 1 tmcchesney
    March 1, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    What a great piece of advise, I have never heard that one! Amazing shot – this is stunning!

  2. March 1, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    We need to pay attention to those little hints. It did well for you this time. That spray has a touch of mauve to it. I was expecting a powdery grey/silver!

  3. 3 barbsherman
    March 1, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    I love these colours. And I always thought eucalyptus was dark green year round. The curve of the branch leading you through the picture is excellent. Love it!

  4. 5 Danudin
    March 1, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    Thanks for the advice I will heed it in future, but being from the land of the Eucalyptus, I have never seen one that looks like that, mostly the leaves are much longer and quite slender. I doubt a koala could subsist on those. But it is a beautiful shot.

    • 6 Bo
      March 1, 2009 at 3:44 pm

      After checking, there are over 700 kinds of eucalyptus. (Who knew!) And though they grow in the United States, only in warmer climes. So, though there are eucalyptus with this type of leaf, the leafs are not alternate. Wrongly identified. Whoops!

      And I cannot find a similar plant, so I won’t put up an ID. Maybe someone does know???

  5. March 1, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    Whatever it is, your shot is beautiful and I’m glad you turned around. Thanks for the useful reminder too…

  6. 8 Mary Lou
    March 1, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    Great words of wisdom. I will have to try turning around to see if there is something that I am missing.

    Beautiful shot of whatever!! Love the bokeh.

  7. March 1, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    It’s a lovely shot whatever it is! Love that beautiful blue in the background! Thanks for sharing that advice, I’d never heard it before but you can be sure I’ll do it from now on!

  8. March 1, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    A marvelous harmony of colors! The blurred shapes in the background give emphasis to the main subject as well.

  9. 11 Karen S.
    March 1, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    Great advice and it’s a good thing you followed it. Beautiful shot – a great capture.

  10. March 2, 2009 at 1:14 am

    Nice shot. And I’ll try to remember those words of advice too.

  11. 13 Gandalf
    March 2, 2009 at 7:19 am

    It’s a great shot. The blue sky is a wonderful foil to brownish hues of the “whateveritis” plant.

  12. March 2, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    Wonderful shot with great line and amazing blue and buff color. Fine advice too. It does look like a eucalyptus; E. neglecta or omeo gum but while it’s hardy for the species Madison would be a stretch. I have it and at 13 degrees the leaves turned black not that lovely buff color. I can’t think what else has persistent leaves that shape.

  13. 15 KarenB
    March 3, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Wonderful color and it’s amazing what you found when you turned around. I’ll have to try that!

  14. March 8, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    My brother taught me that lesson years ago while hiking in Moab. I’ve gotten many a good shot that way. And you’ve got one here as well.


Leave a Reply

