20
Feb
09

Sarah’s Quilt

146. Heirloom

146. Heirloom

Sarah was my great-grandmother; she was born in 1866. She made this “comfort” as she referred to it in her diary, when she was 18 years old. Circa 1884.

Sarah’s older sister and the sister’s husband owned a millinery shop in the small town of Kahoka, Missouri. They would collect the scraps from the shop and bring them to Sarah and her sisters. The girls would sew in the evening after the day’s chores were finished. The materials were the finest available–moires, brocades, chintze, silks, and damasks. Though the “comfort” has a lot of wear in a few of the fabrics, I consider it one of my family heirlooms.

If you’d like to see a larger portion of the coverlet and more photos with different details, including pieces on which Sarah also painted flowers and swans, they are on this flickr set.

12 Responses to “Sarah’s Quilt”


  1. 1 iheartfilm
    February 20, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Very nice.

    Chris

  2. February 20, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    Picture perfect. Priceless!

  3. 3 Mary Lou
    February 20, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    This is a beautiful quilt and a wonderful keepsake. How lucky you are to still have it. My greatgrandmother made us all quilts when we were very young. It got worn out from so much use. I wish I still had mine. Whenever I see a quilt, I still think of her.

  4. 4 tmcchesney
    February 20, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    What a beautiful keepsake! Think of how long this quilt has been around and what it has seen!

  5. 5 Danudin
    February 20, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    Good to see that you aren’t wiltin grom the quiltin, that is real talent.

  6. February 20, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    My DGM made me a quilt, too, and silly me I thought it was to be used, and used, and used….no I don’t even have a scrap of it now.

  7. February 21, 2009 at 8:36 am

    What a fabulous piece of artistry! The stitching between the quilt’s pieces is so interesting. I think it wonderful that you know so much about the creation of the quilt – it makes it even more special. You photo makes me want to reach out and touch the various fabrics. Thanks so much for sharing it with us!

  8. February 21, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    This is a magnificent work of art! Love the textures and colors and the details are amazing!
    What a treasure to keep in the family! I think it’s called a ‘crazy quilt’, but I’m not positive! Beautiful!

  9. 9 Sunny
    February 21, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    It’s a beautiful quilt! She was very talented. (Must be where your artistic talent came from–only you use a different medium!) I quilt too (or pretend to), but there’s no way I’ll ever be that good!

  10. 11 Gandalf
    February 22, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    Hmmm. I guess they didn’t have TV back then. Beautiful work – the photo and the quilt.

  11. February 23, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    I still sleep under a quilt that my grandmother made. I can remember my grandmother and my mother going to “quilting bees” at the church. This is a dying art.


Leave a Reply

