25
Jan
09

Mermaid’s Macaw

261. Risky

261. Risky

The sign on this macaw’s stand said Approach at Your Own Risk. And if I read this bird’s body language correctly, he seemed to be saying the very same thing.  I kept my distance and even said a few “pretty birds,” but I don’t think he was too impressed.

By the way, the macaw and his brother live in a huge set-up in the middle of the Mermaid Car Wash. It was busy on a sunny Sunday afternoon, as half the drivers in the city were checking to make sure their cars were still underneath an inch thick layer of sand, salt, and frosty mud.

11 Responses to “Mermaid’s Macaw”


  1. 1 Sheila
    January 25, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    What a gorgeous shot! I do believe you are correct in that the body language says “Stay away or I’m gonna get you!”

  2. 2 jmckiss
    January 25, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    That’s one cranky looking bird!

  3. 3 tmcchesney
    January 25, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    He has me saying “pretty bird, pretty bird” too, he looks like he is about to attack you! I do have to admit though, he is a pretty bird – really nice capture – love his colors!!

  4. 4 Danudin
    January 25, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    I have to admit that I prefer them on the wing in the wild but that one at least looks healthy. Pretty photo shame there are no trees in the shot (for the bird to hide in)

  5. 5 Candy
    January 25, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    I’m guessing that pretty bird isn’t his favorite saying!

  6. 6 Mary Lou
    January 25, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    Looks like he really meant it too!! Nice photograph…from a distance!!

  7. January 25, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    OMG! I think he’s shooting you the bird!

    Parrots that size can break your finger if they get aholt of you! Risky was the perfect theme for that one!

  8. January 25, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Yeah, i could definitely see a BEWARE OF THE BIRD sign here.

  9. January 26, 2009 at 7:57 am

    Great picture. Mean looking bird too!!

  10. January 26, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    Great shot and color, he does look cranky. Glad that you take your camera to the car wash.

  11. January 26, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Blue and gold macaws are so beautiful, my boss’s GF has one, but he would snap you like a twig. He will probably outlive all of us, LOL. You have a great shot, I like how his head feathers are all puffed up too.


Leave a Reply

